Blow Your Mind, Mwah!: dream 21

“If you don’t like the way I talk, then why am I on your mind? If you don’t like the way I rock, then finish your glass of wine. We fight and we argue, you’ll still love me blind. If we don’t fuck this whole thing up, guaranteed, I can blow your mind. Mwah!”

Dua Lipa’s song, Blow Your Mind, Mwah! really resonated with me. The song speaks about being true to yourself and if you are given the chance, you will definitely leave quite an impression just by doing that alone. I just love this song because it helped me regain a lot of my own self-confidence. I need to be me, and if other people do not like me, it’s more their problem than it is mine. Obviously, there are fundamental exceptions, but you get where I am coming from. I hope, anyways. Don’t let me down, Internet.

A little bit about who Dua Lipa is, because I honestly had no clue who she was until I heard her song for the first time. She is an Albanian model who was raised in the UK turned singer. She’s still really young for her age (actually younger than me!), and all I really know is that she started her music career at the age of 14 on YouTube. That being said, her first single to debut in the US was Blow Your Mind, Mwah! and it was a relatively recent release.

The lyrics of this song are all about owning who you are, not trying to fit in with other people at the sake of your own individuality. It is important to be true to you. Your qualities, perks or flaws, embrace them. Don’t be afraid of being who you are. Be proud of the things that make you unique and that little to lot of bit different. That sort of confidence and sass, especially the “mwah!” portion just amuses me, because I actually love being sassy or sarcastic. Something Dua herself points out that the song embraces “not forgetting who you are to make the other person happy”— again, this song just speaks to me in volumes. Her thought process behind this and the message she writes, I wholeheartedly stand behind it.

One of the biggest reasons why I am grateful for hearing this song is that it echoes so many of the messages my previous posts have spoken about. Being yourself, loving yourself, and not compromising on your values for the sake of others, they are all so true to what I have come to believe in. So thank you, Dua Lipa, for being such an inspiring artist and bestowing upon the world a song that I will be blasting on my computer for a while to come. Thank you for sharing the same values as I do. If everyone can now just embrace themselves, then that kind of feather-light world would, I guarantee, blow my mind. Mwah!

Leave a Reply

