ENTJ: dream 28

This time a year ago, I tested ENTJ on my Myers-Brigg Type Indicator; it stood for extroverted, intuitive, thinking, and judging. I was really proud to be this because it meant to me that I was an outgoing, confident, and independent person. But then, one cultural club-related traumatic experience later, and I found myself becoming INTJ; my extroversion became introversion. And it was not like a borderline thing. Out of 21 questions on introversion versus extroversion, I tested 20 in favor on being an introvert. In short, I hated people. I was constantly stressed, frustrated, angry, and it caused me to feel very drained whenever I talked to everyone. My mind was preoccupied with the cult(ure club) that I was stuck in and it took a toll on me socially.

I stayed introverted for a while and it just had to do with me being stressed out and exhausted constantly. Living with my mentee who was on board with the cult(ure club) with me was the worst thing I could do; I could never escape the cult(ure) club because I essentially lived with it. Because of that, I remained an introvert, suck in this state of being perpetually fatigued. Mentally and emotionally, I had very little left in me. I had to keep convincing myself that it was the right thing for me that I did not like people and that I needed alone time to be energized; introverts by definition need time away from others to re-charge so to speak. I did not understand why I was an introvert, because I usually enjoy talking to others: it was because the people I was in direct contact with were those officers from the club, and they all challenged the hell out of me. So naturally, I hated being around people, even though social recluse is actually how I wound up getting depressed to begin with.

By feeling really alone and on top of that, constantly having to interact with people I did not like, it made me feel abandoned and left behind. I felt like I had nobody left. But when I finally cut myself out of that circle, I found myself growing and flourishing again. I became the person I wanted to be once more. Not only in that I became an ENTJ again, but in the sense that I know now what I am capable of and what I am capable of. I joined the hospitality industry because I love meeting people and making an impact on their lives. I love being able to make their experiences something that they can remember forever. I love being around people who can make me smile and laugh with their stories of travel.

The reason why I transitioned back to being an extrovert is that I changed the people I surrounded myself with. The circle of friends I have now are all encouraging, supportive, or relatable to me, therefore, I feel more empowered whenever I am around them. I feel more capable and valued. Because of this, my extroversion came back. I was once again the person I felt happy being. My name is… going to remain anonymous, but I am officially an extrovert, once more. In a world of my dreams, I could surround myself with only people who will nurture that upbeat side of me. That will make me happy and excited about living. That would be an ideal place to live in.

Leave a Reply

