maturity and anger: realization

I’m writing this post so that I can distract myself from the fact I’m stuck in car with a very incompetent Lyft driver. Now I can be angry and completely bitch out the driver for driving into a traffic filled road rather than following the app’s suggested route and taking the back roads, or I can relish the fact that I’m in one of the busiest roads on the city, able to see the city life unfold around me. I’m letting time drift by, trying to not get annoyed or angry at my situation, because at the end of the day, there are better things to do than be pissed off.

This situation reminds me of two instances that were extreme opposites: when Scarlett forgot to register for classes and got extremely angry, to the point where she made everyone uncomfortable. She had the advantage of being able to pick her classes before the other college freshmen, and she did not realize that she simply planned her classes, not actually register for them. Her attitude was infectiously negative and made us all very unsure of how to feel. We were able to help her salvage a schedule for classes, but not after she had already went into a rage induced emotional rant about how unfair it was.

The other case was with my friend, Ann. She lost her wallet and credit cards flying over from NorCal to visit for spring break. Unlike Scarlett, Ann handled the situation really rationally. She figured out what she needed to account for, i.e. her credit cards, driver’s license, and while she did lose those, she still managed to have her passport. While she had to basically cancel her credit cards and rely on Venmo-ing strangers the whole time, she still had a lot of fun and completely forgot about the whole indicident. She invoked positivity and maturity in the face of a problem.

I’m trying to channel my inner Ann and take a horrible situation and make the most out it. My driver is a moron, and yes, he is going to get a very bad review, but that’s for later. In the present, I’m going to soak in the architecture of the buildings and people watch. Because that’s the most I can do with a situation out of my hands. Being angry will only make the situation escalate.

Leave a Reply

