How it is: Chapter 10

Walking around the South Street Seaport at night, Valerie could just hear all of the comments and what Timmy said to her, it was just ringing through her head. Looking at the water, it was starting to look really welcoming to her. She thought about just jumping in, and letting herself sink into the abyss. “Nobody will even remember you at all.” She cried to herself as she crept up to the edge of the water. “Hey! That’s dangerous!” Misaki and Justin were on a date, and noticed the girl: the model ran after her. “No! Don’t try to stop me!” Valerie screamed at her. “No! Don’t try to jump!” Misaki screamed back. “You’re making a mistake!” “Just let me die already!” Valerie screamed. But before she could take her leap, Justin managed to grab and stop her in time. “Nope, you’re not doing this.” He slowly dragged her away from the water. “Babe, where should we take her to calm her down?” He looked over at her. “Wait a second, you’re Valerie, aren’t you?” She gasped. Misaki watched Warrior Chef religiously and recognized her from the show. “Great, another person who thinks that I’m an idiot for making four desserts in the finale. I get it. I’m over it.” Valerie frowned. “You’re not an idiot, okay? Here, come with us back to Brooklyn.” She linked arms with the younger girl as the three headed off towards the bridge. It was going to be a long walk, but the older model felt like the pastry chef needed a walk in the company of others to calm down.

After a long walk across the Hudson River, Valerie now sat with Misaki and Justin in their apartment. “So you’re now a freshman in NYU studying hospitality? That’s really cool!” Misaki smiled. She was trying to foster an encouraging and supportive environment for Valerie. “Yeah! It’s great to see that you kept your options open with college.” Justin agreed. He felt a little awkward in this case, but he knew what Misaki was trying to do, and was doing his best to help. “You’re a smart kid.” He smiled. “Yeah! I wish I went to college, and I kind of regret not going to an actual university. I dropped out of fashion school.” Misaki giggled. Being a model and formerly in the fashion industry, she was exposed to a lot of nasty and antagonistic behavior from her peers as well. There was a point when Misaki did try to commit suicide, but her classmates intervened and sent her to the hospital. She was treated like some kind of freak for months, having to go to a suicide prevention institution for therapy sessions and that was when she decided to leave college to focus on her rehabilitation completely. Misaki wanted to hear Valerie out before deciding if this girl needed to be put through that experience. For the model, it was traumatic. “So you’re still hung up on the comments?” “Yeah. It’s been tough. It’s affected me at work, and I tried to talk to my friend about it, and he just said something horrible.” She sighed. “What?” “That they’ll forget who I am anyways.” “Yikes, okay, that’s just rough. Trust me, even though people might not agree with your decision, at least the spotlight is still on you for now. Take advantage of that. Be a good sport, and people will continue to support you.” Misaki reassured her. “That’s what I tell one of my co-workers. He’s actually a freshman in NYU too!” She pointed out. “Really? What’s his name?” “Tarou. Tarou Shimizu.”

In their room, Timmy got a text from Justin. “Dude, Valerie just tried to kill herself.” The Taiwanese boy’s heart just sank when he heard that. Frantic, he tried to call the pastry chef, but she did not pick up. “Please don’t hurt yourself. I really do care about you.” He texted her in desperation. He started to sob quietly into his pillow, but this time, Tarou heard. “Hey, I know you’re supposed to be hating me and whatever, but what’s wrong?” He got out of his bed and started to approach the panicked male. “SHUT UP! JUST LEAVE ME ALONE! STOP COMING ONTO ME!” Timmy blew up, throwing his pillow at him. “What the fuck, man?!” Tarou groaned, throwing Timmy’s pillow to the ground and storming out of the room. “Fine, I’ll just sleep in the hallway. Enjoy a room to yourself, asshole.” He slammed the door shut. But everything Tarou said did not even register with Timmy. “Crap. What the fuck did I do to her?” He gasped to himself. Guilt was creeping over him, consuming his mind. All he could think about was how he disappointed Valerie and how he was not sure what happened to her: she refused to answer any calls or texts. “Am I really that awful of a person that I could drive somebody to that point?” He could just feel himself crying hysterically again. The last thing he wanted to do to Valerie was make herself feel worse about the entire situation.

“Are you feeling better now?” Misaki looked at Valerie. “I think so. It looks like Timmy sent me a text-” Before she could even read it, Misaki reached over and took the phone. “Okay, no more Timmy, alright. He’s clearly not good for you.” She shook her head, deleting his text and blocking his number. “What the fuck?!” Valerie growled angrily, grabbing back her phone. But it was too late. Timmy’s contact was gone. “Well, I guess I can always reach out to him on Facebook.” She logged into the app, and tried to search up Tommy’s name, but to no avail. She quickly checked her “blocked users” tab, curious if she blocked him, but he was not listed. Either he deleted his account, or he blocked her on Facebook. “What the actual fuck?” She growled, getting up. “Hey, hey, don’t think about him, alright? Boys are immature little shits.” Misaki tried to start. “Thanks.” Justin glared at her. “But yeah, Timmy isn’t really mature.” Justin admitted. “Asking him for that kind of advice, it’s almost like asking a virgin how the best way to fuck is.” “Justin! What the fuck?!” Misaki glared back at her boyfriend. “That’s the last analogy anyone needs to be hearing right now.” “I get the idea. Thanks, you two.” Valerie hugged both of them before heading back to her dorm room. In her eyes, Timmy just was not worth getting angry over. Yes, he was a longtime friend, but he does not understand what she was going through, and he only made the situation worse. “Hold on! I know you want us to believe you are better, but I think I need to walk you back to your dorm, okay?” Misaki got up and followed her. “Here, babe, I’ll come too.” Justin offered, much to Misaki’s delight.

Meanwhile, Tarou was sleeping in the hallway, causing several of his floor mates to question what exactly is going on. “Hey, are you two fighting?” His RA, a girl named Vanessa looked at him. “Timmy’s just really stressed right now. I’ll be fine.” Tarou reassured her, going back to sleeping on the floor. “Do you want me to talk to Timmy? This is as much your room as it is his.” She affirmed. “I don’t think that’s necessary.” Tarou was trying to usher Vanessa away. There was nothing that she could do to help him. This situation was just too complicated for anyone uninvolved with them. Tarou just needed to sleep this off. So did Timmy. It was a lot to take in, but they just had to try their best and relax. And then suddenly, Timmy opened the door. “Hey, I’m sorry about that. And I’m sorry about being afraid of you.” He kneeled down so that he was eye level with Tarou. “It’s just a lot to handle for me, and the last thing I wanted to do was cause Valerie to try killing herself.” He started sobbing. “Here, here.” Tarou pulled him in for a close embrace. “Look, Timmy, think what you want about my sexuality, but I do love you like a brother, okay? Nothing more. That’s the last time I’ll ever say anything about that. And for this situation, I’m sorry too. I just want my friend back. The person who I can go on goofy adventures with. Not some passive aggressive and socially awkward stress-head, okay?” “Thanks, Tarou.” He hiccuped, feeling slightly better.

Justin, Misaki, and Valerie finally arrived at NYU’s campus, and the couple dropped the pastry chef off at her room. “If you ever need anyone, I’m just a call away, okay?” Misaki hugged her before walking off. “Get a lot of rest. You’ll need it. It’s been a long day.” Justin agreed, following his girlfriend. “Come to think of it, Timmy and Tarou are nearby. Should we go bother them?” Misaki giggled. “Nah, I’m sure that they’ll be asleep by now. It’s pretty late.” Justin yawned. “Oh, yeah, it’s like 2am. Let’s call a Lyft.” She giggled, pulling out her phone. And they were right: Timmy and Tarou were already in bed at that point. The two roommates and friends finally made up, and were sleeping in the same room again. However, news later that morning would change their dynamic yet again. “I got into ACU!” Timmy smiled. “And I got rejected…” Tarou sighed. “But I’m proud of you, okay?” Tarou patted Timmy on the shoulder. “You really deserved it.” “Thanks, man.” Timmy was elated. He finally got his foot in the door. Tarou and Valerie were both so busy doing things with their lives, and now it was his chance to finally do the same! “So, are we going to do brunch today?” Tarou looked at Timmy expectantly. “Sorry, I have something for ACU. They want to initiate me.”

Leave a Reply

