Warrior Chef 1: Part 5

Karen: @Walking into the competition today, I’m feeling really shaken. @Vanilla was one of the strongest girls in the competition and she’s out. @Anyone can get sent home in this competition.

Lucas: @Vanilla going home just meant she wasn’t a well-rounded cook. @Overcooking venison is a poor mistake to make. @If she was going to be a winner, she should’ve known better than to cook it the way that she did.

Carrie: Hi, everyone! I hope you’re ready for this next challenge!

A cart is wheeled in, carrying various animal carcasses.

Karen: @Oh my god. @I see so many dead bodies, and I almost gag. @It’s like Jason Vorghes just made his way through a farm in the woods.

Carrie: So for today’s challenge, we want to see what you guys to make using the scraps from a butcher shop. This includes the animal’s bones and just bits and pieces of meat that they managed to miss. You have just 35 minutes to make a dish, time starts right now!

Lucas: @I grab what used to be a rack of lamb, and I see the fat cap just dangling off of the bones. @I’m going to render lamb fat, and cook that with the bones to make a stock. @I decide to prepare a lamb crepinette with some mint and pea puree and a lamb sauce. @I think it’s going to be awesome.

Tadashi: @Cooking with waste is pretty cool. @I grab these big beef rib bones, and I have a good idea. @I take my scraps, grind them up, and then make a meatball mixture, which I’ll wrap around the bones and roast like a meat lollipop, almost. @It’ll give the meat so much more flavor and I love the idea of it.

Jackson: @Tadashi is playing around with giant beef bones, and I think he’s silly. @I decide on taking the scraps of pork fat, and I’m going to make a pork fat infused apple pie. @I think that making this will show a ton of risk, but I don’t have enough time to make a composed pie, so I’m deconstructing it into a crostata.

Fanny: @I’m excited about this challenge because I can nail it. @I grab the leftover pieces of the chicken, and I’m going to pressure cook them in a quick curry. @I’m going to then make that into a ragout, and serve that inside of a homemade phyllo puff. @I’m going with something completely out of my comfort zone, because I really want to impress the judge tonight and I want to win immunity.

Karen: @I managed to land some foie gras, which I’m surprised people would actually discard this. @I’m making a foie gras butter with lemon-thyme crostoli and whole grain mustard. @I’m feeling really good about this dish because it’s simple but the flavors do speak for themselves and the balance is there.

Leona: @I see that Karen lucked out with the foie gras. @It’s not hard to make that delicious. @I’m doing something much more challenging in that my dish does show technique. @I’m making grilled bone marrow with braised beef ragout and blood orange vinaigrette. @I’m confident that my dish will deliver a knockout punch.

Carrie: Time’s up!

Tadashi: @I’m feeling great about my beef lollipops. @I see Leona also grabbed beef, so it’ll be a direct competition between the two of us, I feel like.

Jackson: @I think my apple pie is the most creative thing here. @Nobody else went with a dessert, and I’m going to stand out for this.

Carrie: Your judge is Warrior Chef judge and expert meat authority, Kierra Johnson!

Kierra: Hi, everyone!

Karen: @She’s won a lot of barbecue circuits and has written a book about butchering game animals. @I think she’s going to be a harsh critic for this challenge.

Kierra: I love cooking with meat and meat is my life. I can’t wait to see what dishes you guys have made using butcher scraps. Every part of the animal can be used, and I just love that concept.

Kierra and Carrie taste the dishes.

Carrie: So Kierra, who disappointed you?

Kierra: Jackson. The usage of the pork fat was great but the pie itself was underbaked and the flavors were just not melding together. And Leona. The grilled bone marrow just melted into nothingness and I couldn’t really taste anything because it all oozed out of the bone itself.

Leona: @Really? @I’m on the bottom? @I only deserve to be on the top. @This is bullshit. @I don’t believe it.

Carrie: And who are you favorites?

Kierra: Karen, the foie gras, it was a bit of an easy go for you, but the balance of flavors were there and I loved your crostoli a lot. And Fanny. You managed to impart a lot of flavor into that chicken ragout and making your own phyllo was incredible. Tonight, it was a bit of a landslide win. Fanny, you earned that challenge win tonight.

Carrie: Congratulations, Fanny! You won immunity!

Fanny: Thank you, love. @I won immunity! @I’m not going anywhere and I proved that tonight by winning this challenge and showing I know what I can do with unusual curveballs. @Chef better be proud of me.

Carrie: So now for the elimination challenge! For this challenge we want to see you make a dish inspired by your own personal vice. You’ll have an hour to make it Your time starts now!

Fanny: @Even though I have immunity, I really feel like this is a challenge I can excel in, because I have had many struggles, being a model and boxer. @As a model, I struggled a lot with my weight and being a boxer, I just tried my best to give a knockout punch. @I want to do an homage to my old diet, which was a green smoothie. @I’m making a spicy tomatillo salsa verde, just to give it that punch, with smoked crema sorbet and spicy pork floss tuiles.

Lucas: @Being raised in a cutthroat environment back home, it was always you had to be first, or you weren’t a winner. @It was really hard for me to come to terms with losing, especially when you have an older and younger brother who just succeeded in everything. @Whenever I’d lose, it was humiliating. @I want to incorporate that sort of sense of humility or humanization into my dish. @So I’m going to make poached crab legs with peppercorn butter and fried capers. @I’m keeping the crab legs in the shell, because the struggle of breaking them represent my own struggle with coming to terms with looking or feeling like an idiot whenever I fell on my face.

Tadashi: @Having to prove to my parents that I was not going to fail in this industry was my personal vice. @I’m going to make a dish that shows my intelligence and my depth of knowledge with flavors and technique. @I’m making sunchoke veloute with pickled beetroot, roasted cauliflower leaves, and chickpeas in pork broth spheres. @I’m confident that my dish shows a lot of technique, and hopefully, the presentation will look like the blood and tears I had to shed to get past all of the struggles.

Leona: @Being from the Bronx, I think that’s already a vice in itself. @I was raised different, and people look at me like I’m bad in the head. @I want to show that I can make good food. @I’m going to prepare mofongo and take the judges to Africa. @I’m going to make the mofongo with plantains, plenty of spices, and then serving it with some brook trout.

Jackson: @My biggest personal vice is just not learning enough about baking from my grandma when I could have. @Tonight, I’m making Rachel’s black velvet cake with cream cheese-Oreo frosting. @I think it represents the darkness behind me not being able to talk with my grandma more when I had the chance, and how I had to overcome that with a lot of focus and determination.

Karen: @I think my own vice would just be being constantly underestimated. @I’m pretty small in stature, so most people don’t take me seriously. @For my dish tonight, I’m going to prepare a fairy tail eggplant lasagna, which really is meant to represent how good things can come in small packages. @I’m making the entire dish from scratch, just to show a lot more technique.

Zack: @Working under Gordon Ramsay, it teaches you to be a perfectionist. @For me, the vice I had was just accepting my faults as a person. @I’m going to prepare a shattered lemon tart, inspired by Massimo Bottura’s own iconic lemon tart. @It is imperfect, but beautiful in its own way. @I see the other stations, and I see what Fanny is making, and it looks like a green smoothie. @If that beats my lemon tart, I’ll be extremely disappointed tonight.

Carrie: Time’s up!

Jackson: @I’m feeling a bit nervous about my cake, but then I see that Fanny made some bizarre dish, and she might be the one going home instead.

Carrie: Your judges are:
Missy Skies

Guy Flannigan

Erwin Ko

Carrie: Let’s start with the dishes by Leona, Jackson, and Lucas!

Leona – mofongo with brook trout

Jackson – black velvet cake with cream cheese-Oreo frosting

Lucas – poached crab legs with peppercorn butter and fried capers

Missy: Leona’s brook trout was cooked beautifully and I liked her mofongo a lot. The flavors were really strong, but she needed a sauce.

Guy: The black velvet cake that Jackson prepared, it was dry and overcooked. I didn’t really enjoy it at all.

Erwin: Lucas’ crab legs were nicely cooked and I loved the accompaniments that he prepared with those.

Carrie: Next, the dishes by Tadashi, Karen, and Fanny!

Tadashi – sunchoke veloute, pickled beetroot, cauliflower leaves, chickpeas pork broth

Karen – fairy tail eggplant lasagna

Fanny – tomatillo salsa verde, smoked crema sorbet, and spicy pork floss tuiles

Erwin: Tadahi’s veloute was…. just beautiful. I was amazed by the flavors. His presentation was gorgeous and I was amazed.

Guy: Karen’s lasagna… the sauce was under-seasoned and the lasagna itself, I actually like the flavors, surprisingly enough.

Missy: Fanny’s dish, it sounded really strange. But the flavors came together beautifully and I loved the idea of taking a green smoothie and turning it on its head.

Carrie: So can we decide on who won and who lost this challenge?

Erwin: We can.

In walks Fanny, Lucas, and Tadashi.

Carrie: The three of you… prepared the judges favorite dishes! One of you won the challenge tonight. Erwin, please announce the winner.
Erwin: I’m honored to crown the best dish, because it was really that good. Tadashi, you won the challenge. Your sunchoke veloute was inspirational.

Tadashi: Thank you. @I won! @I’m really surprised, but winning the vice challenge feels like a huge relief. @I’m excited!

The top three leave.

In walks Jackson and Karen.

Carrie: Unfortunately, one of you is going home.

Karen: @I don’t really know how to feel at this point. @I thought that the lasagna showed a lot more of a risk, but I guess not.

Jackson: @If I go home over a cake, it’s going to be embarrassing. @I’m feeling very scared at the thought of going home.

Missy: Jackson, the cake was dry, Karen, the lasagna was bland. It was a tough decision for who to send home.

Carrie: Karen…. you are safe tonight. Jackson, please return to the kitchen and leave.

Jackson: Alright. Thank you for this opportunity to compete. @I’m feeling really bad about how I got sent home. @I made a dish that I couldn’t stand by and I definitely disappointed my grandmother.

Leave a Reply

