Warrior Chef 1: Round 6

Karen: @I’m the first person walking into the kitchen tonight, but it’s not a good feeling. @After almost getting sent home, I just need some time to really dig deep and think about what makes me passionate about food.

Leona: @I’m confident that I can beat the rest of these cooks tonight. @Nobody here is as scrappy as I am.

Carrie: Hi, everyone! So tonight, the six of you will be competing in teams of three. Please draw knives!

Leona – red

Tadashi – red

Fanny – blue

Lucas – blue

Zack – blue

Karen – red

Carrie: So in teams of three, you’ll be preparing two dishes in 30 minutes. You’ll each have 5 minutes in the pantry, time starts now!

Karen: @So Leona, Tadashi, and I are discussing, and Leona and I both cook more European food, and Tadashi is Japanese. @So we decide on our first dish, which is going to be a slow-cooked egg with truffle foam and uni. @The second dish is black garlic roasted lamb with potatoes and mint puree.

Lucas: @Fanny, Zack, and I are on a team together. @We decide that the first course will be beef carpaccio with pickled vegetables and roasted pumpernickel. @Our second dish is going to be grilled octopus with confit potatoes and fried onions.

The teams both arrive at their stations.

Carrie: Guys, just one more twist before you cook. Switch stations!

Leona: What? @You’re kidding me, right?

The teams swap stations.

Carrie: You’ll have 30 minutes to cook two dishes, using ingredients selected by the other team. And you don’t have access to the pantry. Your time starts now!

Tadashi: @I see what we have to work with. @Octopus and beef tenderloin are the main proteins, so we decide on takoyaki fritters with caramelized onion mayonnaise. @For the second dish, we have the beef, so we will prepare a seared beef loin with pangritata and a carrot puree with beef pan jus.

Fanny: @I see the uni and the eggs with the lamb, and I’m really happy. @For our first dish, we want to prepare an egg yolk raviolo with uni brown butter and shaved truffles. @For the second dish, we are making mint crusted rack of lamb with potato puree and black garlic jus. @Lucas, Zack, and I are going to be a strong team.

Karen: @Working with Tadashi, it’s pretty incredible. @He’s a strong cook, and his leading style, it’s coming through. @Leona and I are working in sync with him, and our components are getting finished, one right after the other.

Carrie: Time’s up!

Leona: @I think our team did the best. @I look over, and I’m not impressed.

Zack: @I’m worried that my lamb is not cooked properly, but the rest of the dishes look great. @We might have a shot here.

Carrie: Your judge is Warrior Chef alum, Ashlee Pou!

Ashlee: Hi, babes. @Babes, it’s great to be back. @I’m ready to criticize the dishes, and I’m not afraid to be a biatch if I have to.

Carrie and Ashlee taste the dishes.

Carrie: So Ashlee, how did the red team do?

Ashlee: Babes, the best part of their meal was the appetizer. The fritters were phenomenal. I loved the second course, but not as much as I did the first.

Carrie: And how bout the blue team?

Ashlee: The raviolo was stunning, babes. It was oozy, it was sexy, I just loved it. The second course, I thought that the potatoes were good, but the lamb was cooked unevenly, babes. I’m disappointed by that.

Carrie: And the winning team?

Ashlee: Babes, it was an easy call. The winners were most certainly…. the red team.

Carrie: Congratulations, Tadashi, Leona, and Karen! You won the creativity challenge!
Karen: @Winning this challenge just puts the wind back in my sails. @This is just what I needed to really bolster my confidence.

Carrie: And now for your elimination challenge!

A cart is wheeled in, carrying six large crockpots.

Tadashi: @I’m seeing the large pots, and I’m feeling a little bit confused.

Carrie: So inside of each of these pots is a different kind of stew. Everyone, just take a pot, and open the lid!

Karen: @I grab the first one, and inside is a name tag. Hot pot?

Tadashi: Jambalaya.

Leona: Chairo? @What the heck is that?!

Zack: Cassoulet.

Fanny: Callaloo.

Lucas: Beef bourguignon.

Carrie: So for your dishes, you’ll need to make a dish inspired by the stew you drew. 1 hour, time starts now!

Lucas: @I got beef bourguignon, and all I really know is that it’s French, and it uses beef, and I think red wine. @I’m going to make red wine glazed beef short ribs with gnocchi and brown butter. @I’m keeping the dish relatively basic, focusing on the beef and red wine, so that I don’t really screw up.

Fanny: @I’m feeling a bit amused about the callaloo, because it’s another vegetarian-type of thing, and I just made a green soup in the last elimination challenge too. @I’m going to prepare a taro puree with mushroom stuffed spinach leaves and an olive oil-nasturtium emulsion.

Zack: @Cassoulet is like pork and beans. @I’m making chili con carne with a cheesy bechamel topping. @It’s going to be like a blend of shepherd’s pie and a gratin. @I think that my inventiveness with this will be great!

Leona: @I got chairo, and I have no clue what this is. @It’s supposed to be a stew. @I think it’s got corn in it, and I’m trying to figure out what sort of protein to use. @I’m making grilled skirt steak with coriander, and a homemade hominy, using plenty of butter and pepper to perk up that corn.

Tadashi: @I have Jambalaya. @It’s a delicious stew with sausage and rice. @I know right away that I can make a chicken roulade stuffed with farce and spices, and then for the rice, I’m making aranchini with corn and peas. @I think that the combination of flavors will be there, and hopefully, it’ll work well.

Karen: @I have hot pot. @Hot pot. @I decide to go with some raw mussels, parisian gnocchi, and then a scalding hot fennel broth. @I’m not really taking the flavors as much as I am taking the experience of hot pot and bringing that to the table.

Carrie: Time’s up!

Karen: @I look around, and I’m feeling a bit nervous. @I just won a creativity challenge, but in the last round, I almost got sent home, so I really don’t know where I stand.

Leona: @Karen’s weakness is that she’s still hung up on her previous progress. @That’s why she won’t ever win the title.

Carrie: Your judges are:

Miriam Adjanti

Frank Torres

Missy Skies

Carrie: Let’s start with the dishes by Tadashi and Karen!

Tadashi – chicken farce roulade with corn-pea aranchini and hot sauce

Karen – mussels, parisian gnocchi, fennel broth

Miriam: Tadashi’s roulade was cooked perfectly and his aranchini were great. But my biggest complaint was that hot sauce. It was the wrong kind of sauce for this dish. It made the dish one note too spicy.

Frank: Karen’s play on hotpot was brilliant. The flavors, not necessarily what I’d associate with the Asian styled dish, but the experience was completely there, and she translated the dish into her own profiles really well.

Missy: Overall, both dishes had strong highs. Tadashi’s roulade was really well done and I liked the aranchini a lot. He did jambalaya justice. Karen’s dish, it was really brilliant. I loved her dish a lot.

Carrie: Next, the dishes by Fanny and Leona!

Fanny – taro puree, mushroom stuffed spinach leaves, olive oil-nasturtium emulsion

Leona – coriander grilled skirt steak with peppered hominy

Missy: Fanny’s taro puree was brilliantly done. It was creamy, light, and heavenly. I’m amazed that she didn’t even add any additional dairy to that. The leaves were delicious, and I almost forgot that her entire dish was vegan!

Frank: Leona captured the flavor profiles of chairo surprisingly well and I liked the hominy and how much butter she put into that. But my steak was undercooked, bordering on completely raw.

Miriam: Fanny’s dish was really strong. If she keeps putting up food like this, she could very easily make the finale. Leona, had she cooked the steak properly, it would have had a lot of promise.

Carrie: Finally, Zack and Lucas’s dishes!

Zack – chili con carne with cheesy bechamel

Lucas – red wine glazed beef short ribs with gnocchi and brown butter

Miriam: I really loved the textures in Zack’s dish. But the chili con carne was not spiced enough, because the bechamel overwhelmed the flavors of it. He promised me a chili, but it wasn’t spicy at all.

Frank: The ribs Lucas prepared were beautifully cooked. Personally, I preferred Karen’s gnocchi to Lucas’s, but his were still delicious overall.

Missy: Zack made a different kind of stew out of a stew he was handed. I liked his bechamel a lot however. With Lucas, the dish was great. Just the short ribs on their own, brilliantly executed.

Carrie: So can we decide who is going home tonight, and who won the challenge?

Miriam: We can.

In walks Karen, Fanny, and Lucas.

Carrie: Tonight, the three of you made the best dishes, and one of you won the elimination challenge!

Lucas: @I’m feeling really happy! @I could win the challenge tonight, and that’ll make me a really strong contender to win.

Carrie: Missy, please announce the winner!

Missy: All three dishes were great, but the best one was… Karen’s hotpot.

Carrie: Congratulations, Karen! You won the elimination challenge!

Karen: Thank you! @I managed to win back to back challenges, and I’m feeling really good about my odds at winning the whole thing!

The top three leave.

Fanny: @Karen winning, she’s such a sweetheart. @I’m feeling like she’s somebody to watch moving forward.

In walks Leona and Zack.
Carrie: Both of you had good dishes, but the judges had different complaints.

Frank: Leona, the flavors were good, but my steak was undercooked, compared to the other portions. It might be those small differences that will send you home.

Miriam: Zack, your bechamel was textbook. But it was the very thing that made your dish not spicy enough. It made your dish very one-note.

Carrie: Zack, please leave the kitchen.

Zack: Thank you for this opportunity, and I’m just glad to have made it this far. @I’m going home. @The competition is getting tougher, and I just need to keep my head held high. @That’s all.

Leave a Reply

